Poets logo

Please Come Back Summer

A free verse poem

By Talia DevoraPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2022
51
Please Come Back Summer
Photo by Lionel Gustave on Unsplash

Please come back summer,

I miss the gentle touch

of sunshine and mist

on my arms and hands.

I want you back summer,

so I can take those lengthy walking trips

to the park without bundling up,

and feeling like a frozen monument.

Please come back summer,

I want to lay peacefully

on the green grassy fields,

and watch the clouds walk.

I want you back summer,

those generous scoops

of dairy-free mint coconut chocolate ice cream

were irresistible, decadent, and ridiculously scrumptious.

Please come back summer,

I’m dying to see

those brightly coloured flowers

dance in their flower beds again!

I want you back summer,

I’m longing to hear

the music of the rivers, waterfalls, ponds, swimming pools, creeks,

and the sound of kids playing, chuckling, and frolicking.

Please come back summer,

I’m yearning to cuddle

with my favourite tree

at the little park next door to me.

I want you back summer,

so I can retreat

to the rock garden

and have another mindful moment.

Please come back summer,

I miss you dearly.

I can’t wait to

reunite with you again.

Summer, I miss you already…….

By Dakota Roos on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read another one of my poems. If you enjoyed this poem, please give it a ❤️, share it with others, comment, and please feel free to send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting content, please consider subscribing and visiting my public profile. Stay tuned for more poetry, recipes, stories, and much more!

Please feel free to keep in touch with me!

IG: @tdwrites24

FB: Talia Devora

By ShengGeng Lin on Unsplash

love poems
51

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Prince Tyagi24 days ago

    nice line talia ji

  • K.B. Silver about a year ago

    This made me think of all the things I love about summer, and it is my least favorite season. 💕

  • Nice ❤️🌹💋❗❗❗

  • Syd Staticabout a year ago

    This definitely made me visualize a nice summer day! As much as I love this time of year, it is hard not to miss the uniqueness of summer

  • Emeka Nwankwoalaabout a year ago

    Keep it up. It is highly appreciated

  • LaJennaabout a year ago

    absolutely perfect

  • Dee Simoneabout a year ago

    Fab work - although I'm an Autumn/Fall gal this really made me yearn for the sun's return ☀️

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    I especially enjoyed this because summer is my favorite season. I love the sun and the warm weather.

  • #KristinaWritesabout a year ago

    I love this! please read this story by me and let me know your thoughts: https://vocal.media/psyche/alex-and-maggie

  • Christopher Donovanabout a year ago

    Wonderfully evocative! Fantastic work! X

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story!! This was wonderful :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful job.

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Beautiful work!

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    I like the way you spend your sun-mmers!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Superb, simply superb!!! Congratulations on TOP Story too!!!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    I share your sentiments but can't really complain as our winters are not as brutal as others. Congratulations on Top Story! Hearted and subscribed!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Me, too! We have 6-8 inches of sloppy snow here. Yuck! Nice work, and congrats on Top Story!

  • This poem made me smile even though I'm very much a cold-weather person. The sentiment was beautiful, as were the delivery, delightfully bright imagery, and sensory notes. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.