Poets logo

Please

a plea for sovereignty

By Nicholle MichellePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Please
Photo by Jadell Films on Unsplash

Please don't take my dreams away

Please don't make me give up

I know that I'll be someone, someday

Will you please just let me grow up?!

Stop telling me I'm dumb,

Don't accuse me of wasting my time...

Because soon my day will come

When I'll be in my prime!

What will you think then?

When you're old and grey...

When you're frail and thin...

will you be glad I went "astray"?

But I can't keep on living

in someone else's dreams...

I have to live my life...

you've been there too, it seems

So please just let me go

I might come back some day,

although maybe not until

you have passed away.

But if you would have let me

live my own life from the start-

I wouldn't go away,

at least, not with a broken heart

So with tears of pity, for only you I cry,

don't come looking for me

when I say good-bye.

Cause you will be lucky

if you're even there...

when I pack my things quickly,

yet with the greatest care.

So please, just give up,

when defeat stares you in the face.

Its done, I'm gone,

I have moved on...

Because I have won the race!

So please just let me go,

with the greatest ease...

and be glad to know -

that I at least said PLEASE!

Nicholle Michelle 1999

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.