Poets logo

Playing House

Or Not

By J. Delaney-HowePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
8
Playing House
Photo by Anaya Katlego on Unsplash

I'm building a kingdom with you. Only you aren't interested in making a castle. You'd rather play in the sandbox.

I'm building a life with you. Only you are unable to make a life with someone. You'd rather hide your blocks and throw them all around.

I'm building a relationship with you. Only you don't truly want that do you? You'd rather reap the benefits but still live your own life, doing your own thing.

I am building a family with you. Only you don't want to be a family man. You don't understand that it requires trust, honesty, and respect. You have to be a good husband to be a family man.

I'm building a home with you. Only you don't care. The only time you notice how I keep our house is when I don't do it.

It turns out we aren't building after all; we are just playing a game.

We are playing house.

heartbreak
8

About the Creator

J. Delaney-Howe

Bipolar poet. Father. Grandfather. Husband. Gay man. I write poetry, prose, some fiction and a good bit about family. Thank you for stopping by.

Queer Vocal Voices on Facebook.

Find me on Facebook.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Excellent job ❤️👍

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Excellent. Well written. Your choice of opportunity values brings to life the point of real versus make believe. Great job as always!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.