Poets logo

Plague Rat

a poem

By Zachary PhillipsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am a plague rat

A covid cat

A diseased gnat

My lineage?

The OG bat

That went splat

In the mouth

Of some pratt

Or perhaps it was a lab

Concocted by a Chinese bureaucrat

Or an elite crooked hat

Or a corrupt diplomat

Or a Rockefeller kind of aristocrat

All as a part of some Illuminati format

To make the economy fall flat

Allowing the aliens to come take our habitat

While we chitchat in hazmat

Debating the origins of the fruit bat spat

Did I correctly read the online thermostat?

The stupidity of keyboard combat?

The multitudes of conspiracy tit for tat?

All I know is that I feel like chat

I gotta isolate with a seven day forced sabbat

With nothing new to look at

Other than Putin ignoring every Geneva caveat

Is he a Hitler copycat?

Will there be a successful coup d'etat?

Should I stockpile water and fat?

Truth is,

Worrying about would war three

is making my mind far more flat

than anything this disease brought to my doormat.

How about that?

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Zachary Phillips

Mental Health - Mindfulness - Self Help

https://www.zachary-phillips.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.