Poets logo

Pieces of You

In Them

By Cassidy RandallPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I still try to find pieces of you in everyone I meet,

Sometimes a stitch of your smile will peak through someone else’s lips

Or the silence of your heavy laughter will be heard through the gasp of another’s breath

Your dimples have often made an appearance on the cheeks of men who just weren’t you

The way your arms wrapped around me will find their way onto my skin like waves crashing into me

The way your fingers found your way into my hair, will blow through with the wind

The grip of your hand just above my knee has been replace by the kind affirmation of friend

Your chest, a stronghold for my head will find it’s way back to me in the form a man who will never compare

Our fingers intertwined have rescued me from the warm waters flooding my eyes, just to find that he’ll never be you

I see, smell, feel, and ache with pieces of you haunting my life every day

And for once, I wish I would stop searching.

I want to feel again, hard, I want to kill of all of the memories of you that flood my mind, but I can’t seem to let them go.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cassidy Randall

San Francisco native living in Washington, finally sharing poetry with living beings other than my dogs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.