Poets logo

Pieces of Pieces

From peace

By The Dani WriterPublished 2 years ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
8
Pieces of Pieces
Photo by Ning Shi on Unsplash

Fragments.

Numerous razor shards scraped past a thousand nerve endings.

Where have I ever been whole?

Had to happen first

based on principles of physics

and the way I figure it

I can backwards work formulae

unravel chemical combustion and blast radius

rewind and retrace steps before incendiary stages

because fragments this strong come from story.

Encoded messages unconcerned with appearances

while unity screams hellfire with every jagged edge

searing pins without needles misery

but can’t locate source of pain.

I am stretched strewn across contradictory guidance

post consult with my doctor

who provides sufficient thought behind blank stares

after the MH pro forma tanks

“I’m not depressed,” I explain, “I am broken.”

Dismissive of my saga.

Cites absence of red flags with a “You’ll be fine.”

I trail chalk fragments screech across blackboard shrill.

Examine insides of cedar trees for triggering aromas that linger.

Feel for rocks and roots I must have played near as a child

Untaught beliefs about endlessness and the afterlife

and a oneness that has to be me

if only I can find it.

By Malcolm Lightbody on Unsplash

(Previously published by author on Simily)

***

I really appreciate that you read my poem! If you'd like to see more of my work, please check below:

If you enjoyed this or any of my other stories, feel free to like, subscribe, tip, pledge, and/or share with friends and social media sites. If you wish to promote in other forums, you can secure my permission @thedaniwriter

sad poetry
8

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Wow. I adore the way you approached this. The concept of brokenness, of no physical malady yet the certainty of illness, is written so well. The metaphor of pieces being traced back to a whole, a whole that could be yet isn’t. Im in awe. I read it 3 times! “I can backwards work formulae unravel chemical combustion and blast radius rewind and retrace steps before incendiary stages because fragments this strong come from story.” Incredible work.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    A deep dive into MH issues and very well written.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Melancholy!!! Brilliantly written!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.