Poets logo

Piecemeal

like field mice

By Sam Eliza GreenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
photo by Eva Bronzini on Pexels

I hate the way blank pages look

when I have everything to say

but don’t know where to begin.

Wednesday afternoon,

and I’ve just woken,

scrounging like field mice

with bird seed

for words that sing

or at least sound nice,

but I’m stuck with the beginning

of these piecemeal images that might

be profound if I give them time.

But sometimes, most times,

it feels like all I have is time

to ponder the lapses in my words

or simple rhymes

that are sporadically

the only reason I write.

But today, I will settle

for mediocrity because

we can never be perfect.

inspirationalnature poetry
1

About the Creator

Sam Eliza Green

Wayward soul, who finds belonging in the eerie and bittersweet. Poetry, short stories, and epics. Stay a while if you're struggling to feel understood. There's a place for you here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    This is not mediocre. This is a relatable glimpse into the most beautiful thing - daily life.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.