Poets logo

Pictures

Not what I wished for

By Adaline ArcherPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4

Why do I hate pictures?

I never used to hate them. Before all of this social media and these mobile phones. They have created a world that is insidiously invasive, painfully pervading, and utterly ubiquitous. Everyone is now living their lives through and for pictures. Everyone is showing their 'best life' which really isn't their best life at all. I never wished for a luxurious life or flawless skin, for popularity or a happy ending. All I wished for is to be able to close my eyes and fall asleep within moments, but that has been replaced with pictures of other peoples lives.

The future now looks so easy. Instant messaging only becomes more instant, calling and talking are becoming old-fashioned. Human interaction is becoming prehistoric, accessible at the flick of a finger but fingers never really touch. Virtual reality is becoming reality with virtually everything becoming a possibility except for our own reality. Everyone is trapped behind their screens filled with pictures of what reality is now.

I believe pictures curve the imagination, while words ignite it. Therefore it is painful for me to witness how people are bypassing words for pictures. Sharing of pictures has become a demonic tool for people to aggrandize themselves. Only seeking social appreciation and generally seeking confirmation for ones existence to be justified.

Now instead of peaceful thoughts my dreams are filled to the brim with my imperfections and faults, my constant overthinking and the disturbances that just keep popping up. "Another person liked your picture" means that my existence is now a little more worthy than before.

All I wished for was to be at peace, but now I'm not so sure that I'll be strong enough to fight the same pictures tomorrow.

performance poetry
4

About the Creator

Adaline Archer

Just a girl writing about the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.