Poets logo

Phoenix Rising

Overcoming Abuse

By Brittany IvyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Phoenix Rising
Photo by Ferdinand studio on Unsplash

It was a sunny day in March when I set myself on fire

I had said the day before that this isn’t what I wanted

Still somehow the devil walked in and convinced me to conspire

Against all those I loved dearly, this isn’t what I wanted

But the gun that wasn’t yours and my natural instinct to freeze

Gifted you with access to me and anything that you pleased

It was a rainy day in June when I finally grew tired

The fire was finally gone but the ashes left were haunted

The weight of betrayal and how again I’d been a liar

Made me hate everything about me, this isn’t what I wanted

But a melody came to me like angel in the breeze

With it my purpose was restored, my life again mine to seize

It was a cool day in October when I cut the wire

That tied me to you and everything I had never wanted

I spread my wings and lined up my shot, I was ready to fire

Ablaze once more with passion and vision, no longer stunted

Now I’m free and without you my soul is finally at ease

Even after all of this I love you and hope you find peace

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Ivy

I am a DREAMER! And I hope you are too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.