Poets logo

Phoenix fires

Chantal Aytes

By CadmaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
3

Only narcissists get upset

When called out on their trash

I’m out here chasing my dreams

And they selling me nightmares

I have walked through hell

I smile and smoke at fire that burns

I’ve been there for everyone else

But walked with empty hands

It’s not a thing all can understand

I’ve been strong enough too long

Long enough to silently cry

When the predators dissipate

Waiting for self love to reciprocate

I smile from my crooked teeth

Bellow at dark humorous jokes

I tell depression it’s time to leave

And self depreciation gotta go

Let the fires burn up, up the walls

Let the Phoenix hear it’s call

Let the fires burn up, up the walls

Dying Phoenix hear your call

Some days it takes a lot more work

Flip my hair & try to climb out the dirt

Street kisses yell raunchy beautiful girl

But I don’t value myself on my looks

Or if I can cook but I do by my books

I run with scissors for toxic like a school child

Combat boots freedom needs as my curls run wild

Yes I’ve hurt, cried and died but I ain’t mad

I’ve lost a lot & gain very little but I ain’t sad

If you truly peak at me I’m really dark within

And like a sin I’ll still brighten your day

My edges are all poorly cut up

Seven ways to Sunday

I smile from my crooked teeth

Bellow at dark humorous jokes

I tell depression it’s time to leave

And self depreciation gotta go

Let the fires burn up, up the walls

Let the Phoenix hear it’s call

Let the fires burn up, up the walls

Dying Phoenix hear your call

Let it consume me

Let it renew me

The fire around me is nothing

But from within me I’m burning

I smile from my crooked teeth

Bellow at dark humorous jokes

I tell depression it’s time to leave

And self depreciation gotta go

Let the fires burn up, up the walls

Let the Phoenix hear it’s call

Let the fires burn up, up the walls

Dying Phoenix hear your call

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Cadma

A sweetie pie with fire in her eyes

Instagram @CurlyCadma

TikTok @Cadmania

Www.YouTube.com/bittenappletv

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.