Poets logo

Perfect Timing

At least I said it to your face...why couldn't you?

By Kathryn QuirkPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Perfect Timing
Photo by Carolina Heza on Unsplash

I heard your voice and time stopped dead.

Nothing could prepare me for what you said.

Happiness turned numb, my turn instead.

You said it was over, you loved her.

You weren't allowed to talk to me anymore.

You didn't want to talk to me anymore.

7 years of friendship sacrificed for peace of mind.

A choice you made alone that was also mine to decide.

You hid behind a number and some perfect, perfect timing.

At least I said it to your face.

Why couldn't you?

She reached out to me when you withheld the truth,

I gave her my side, but couldn't speak for you.

In that night, all that we built she swore to undo.

I thought I got her to understand.

Instead, everything got out of hand.

You gave in to her every demand.

In that single message, you tore down every wall.

You had a deadpan voice with no remorse in it at all.

I know I once approached you with a not so perfect timing.

At least I said it to your face.

Why couldn't you?

A lack of answers brings questions galore.

Did she get all bitter and sore?

Or did you maybe love me more?

In any case, she has you all to herself.

You put everyone else before yourself,

Leave your true feelings high on the shelf.

I'll never know, nor have you ever bothered to tell me.

No matter what, I know that you'll be thinking of me,

In every touch, in every song you hear with perfect timing.

I would have said it to your face.

Why couldn't you?

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kathryn Quirk

I am a wife, and mother of 1 daughter. Former theatre Production Manager, now a full time homemaker.

I enjoy music, theatre, board games, fishing, among other things.

I'm excited to share the musings of my brain with you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.