Poets logo

People Pleaser

Who am I trying to impress

By Sarah LoydPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
People Pleaser
Photo by Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

I want to be loved so bad

I forget how to love myself

Strangers define me

Living with a mask is sad

***

Nobody owns you

You owe nobody

They don't know you

They don't even care

It's too hard to be somebody

Who pleases everyone in the whole damn world

***

I seek approval

From internet faces

I seek adoration

Can't be loved by all

***

Nobody owns you

You owe nobody

They don't know you

They don't even care

It's too hard to be somebody

Who pleases everyone in the whole damn world

***

There's such a thrill

In not giving a shit

There's so much freedom

Outside a societal pit

There's no such thing

As a perfect soul

We all have quirks

Who am I living for

Who am I trying to impress

***

Nobody owns you

You owe nobody

They don't know you

They don't even care

It's too hard to be somebody

Who pleases everyone in the whole damn world

Thank you for reading my poem. Show your support by tipping, subscribing, liking, and all that fun stuff. You can follow me on Twitter @musicl0v3 and on various Vocal Facebook groups.

Here is my other work:

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Sarah Loyd

I love movies, music, TV, and all things entertaining. I also love to write poetry. Follow me on Twitter @musicl0v3 and on Mix https://mix.com/sarahloyd You can also find me on Pinterest @sloydmarie

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was so relatable

  • Sissi Smith2 years ago

    Lots of truth here.

  • Big hugs for this Sara , commenting turned off on VSS thread but left a heart there

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.