Poets logo

Penitentiary Love

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Complex is her prison

The warden to freedom

She puts the guard

In my garden of eden

My judge and my jury

My guilty confines

Executioner of

My most passionate rhymes

An intimate inmate

She dwells in my cells

She writes on my walls

But she quells my rebels

By dispelling the words

That are sentenced to life

When her death row despair

Is a straight-jacket's knife

She's the shank to the veins

Of my drug misdemeanor

When barred are the windows

Through which I have seen her

Non-violent offenses

Like needles of sadness

Lock my convictions

In solitaire madness

No conjugal visits

No messages sent

Cemented in empty

Demented lament

It's a heart-broken system

Consenting to rape

Unjust beauty victim

I can not escape

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.