Poets logo

Panic Attack

Thoughts that run through my head

By Crystal L.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Panic Attack
Photo by Natalia Y on Unsplash

Sounds are broken.

Mind is racing.

Vision is blurred.

Colors are bleeding.

Breath is being taken.

Voice is stuck.

Thoughts are jumbled.

Burning water runs down my face.

I desperately suck in the air that has somehow lost its way.

My once anger and frustration has now turned into fuel for survival.

Why am I acting this way?

There is no one here to hurt me,

yet I feel like I’m being under attack.

I can’t calm down.

I can’t stop and think.

I can’t break.

Someone please help me!

Protect me!

Take me away!

I need to save myself,

from myself.

I’m dizzy.

I fall to my knees.

Where is my inhaler?

I want to breathe!

Where am I?

What was I doing?

I need help!

Please,

someone come find me!

I’m dying.

A voice reaches out to me.

I can’t see them.

I can’t make them out.

“Calm down.”

“Hold my hands.”

“Slow your breathe.”

I try my best to focus.

I can’t feel my fingers.

I tell myself to breathe.

Slowly, I breathe.

In and out.

In and out.

In and out.

“You are safe.”

“I am here.”

“Listen to my voice.”

My vision returns.

I can see them.

I can see him.

Slowly, I breathe.

In and out.

In and out.

In and out.

He led me to the bed.

My body defeated.

My head hurts.

I’m stiff.

It’s hard to move.

But I am alive.

I am ok.

I can breathe.

In and out.

In and out.

In and out.

The emotions are exhausted

Once again I am in control.

Slowly, I breathe.

In and out.

In and out.

In and out.

Body starts to relax.

Tears stop streaming.

I stare at the ceiling.

A warm hand wrapped around mine.

The panic is gone.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Crystal L.

Welcome!

I am an advent reader of non-fiction, mystery, sci-fi, and fantasy novels. I want my platform to be mainly about the short novels I write as well as a few personal stories I can share with everyone. I appreciate all my readers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.