Poets logo

Owl-Eyed Awake

That lullaby in my head wakes me up instead.

By TestPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Owl-Eyed Awake
Photo by Lucas Ludwig on Unsplash

And there I quietly rest,

my head firmly nests,

body is glued to my mattress.

And I am owl-eyed awake,

for what ever it takes

to remove the ghostly blackness.

.

That lullaby in my head,

wakes me up instead,

I sit up straight and switch on the light.

My heart so it does bleed,

my soul so it is hungry,

too, too tired to fight, or cry.

.

Not ready to say goodbye.

.

And I am owl-eyed awake,

for my love for him put at stake,

is all it takes.

.

So owl-eyed awake.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you would like to support my writing, please consider liking my story, subscribing, pledging and/or tipping. Thank you for reading!

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.