Poets logo

Out of Line

Step Up

By Thor Grey (G. Steven Moore)Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Out of Line

6/10/12

Been living unopposed

No contradictions

Getting along in line

By being far from it

Never moving away

Or going astray

Getting by with

My toe well behind the line

But now, I move ahead

I’ve got my toe by the line

I’m an average person

White picket fence and all

But now I want it blue

Some dirt on my shoes, and

I want my house a neon color

Not this lame pastel

Got my toe on the line

Don’t want a fight

Just some freedom

To do what I need

It’s not insubordination

I’m not going AWOL

In this military world

I’d say I’m just going civilian

I’m stepping out of line

To realign my spine

With my heart and mind

To make everything fine

But that’s not enough

I have to step beyond the line

I’m not a friend and a neighbor

I’m a slave and a laborer

To break free I move beyond the line

I go above and beyond

I go away

But not astray

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Thor Grey (G. Steven Moore)

Since 1991, this compassionate writer has grown through much adversity in life. One day it will culminate on his final day on Earth, but until then, we learn something new every day and we all have something to offer to others as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.