Poets logo

Ought-to-biography

Letting Go of the Old

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Ought-to-biography
Photo by James Lee on Unsplash

What has been done to me,

the karma is not mine to own.

I free myself by sending the karma back to them.

I ought to open those wounds and practice healing

and release the past.

******

Many have walked over me,

used me for my resources and kindness.

They have shown me their true self.

I ought to practice forgiveness so I can free myself from them.

******

The world has taught me to overcome obstacles,

other's demands has caused blockages,

I choose to face their demands with a resounding "NO!"

I ought to know my strength and face each obstacle with integrity.

******

My foundation has been cracked by abuse, addiction or co-dependency,

Generational trauma has been riddled with brokenness.

I learned from masters brokenness.

I ought to smelt the cracks together with gold,

become more value to myself so I can be better in the world

******

Love wanes in this world.

People pass others struggling.

They pass damage and hurt to others.

I ought to concentrate on love and introduce love back into the world.

******

The world rains on everyone,

life trials visits everyone.

I can't help everyone, but I can still help one.

I ought to practice empathy and open an umbrella to stop the rain for one.

******

The world is full of ugly,

deception and greed.

I can't stop betrayal in others.

I ought to develop my compassion skills so I can ease their pain.

******

Understanding is not found in books,

It's watching what others do.

Seeing the small things they value.

I ought to trust my intuition to understand those in my surroundings.

******

I have ignored my intuition

made questionable decisions.

I have betrayed myself by not listening to my needs.

I ought to work on listening to my knowing.

******

I let the world determine my worthiness.

Degrees are just paper.

The knowledge needs to transform to impact the world.

I ought to walk away from the world and trust and love myself.

******

I am an air sign

the world to toss me around

good or bad, I decide what is right for me.

I ought to tether myself to my own beliefs.

******

The world builds purpose on money and material gain

The smiles and laughter

my family's love is gold.

I ought to have courage to love the ones around me.

******

I am a giver.

I gave away my power.

I have lost parts of me and became enslaved myself to them.

I ought to fight for my independence and never give away my power.

******

Worries shows me I am trying to control.

Mind whirls and becomes chaotic.

Imagination runs wild telling me stories not true.

A fictional life produces worry.

I ought to let go of control so there are no worries laughing at me.

******

Storms in life have built strength,

resilience and adaptability

have built a powerful me.

I ought to practice my personal power.

******

I ought to take care of my health,

Other's don't respect my time,

Yet life has caused me to ignore me.

I ought to get active and take care of me.

******

Habits are success based,

Meeting demands of others,

have built strong organizational skills

proved my worthiness in the corporate world.

I ought to build habits that build a healthier me.

******

Life's juggling act causing chaos,

Not everyone should be a ball in my act.

Some throw my balance off so they need to be let go.

I ought to let go of those who unbalanced my world.

******

Dreams and visions has been others.

The dreams of the ancestors

are not mine to carry.

I ought to make sure my dreams are not compromised.

******

I ought to is my old way of thinking.

I ought to has no baring on me.

I ought to is a weight I not longer need.

I ought to keeps me from moving forward.

******

I ought to has no more power

in my world.

I am no longer waiting

Stop the ought to.

********

Stop waiting

conquer the ought-to's.

That habit,

I am game to build so I can move forward.

******

Stop waiting Sheila, and just move forward.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.