Poets logo

Other Things to Do

Daddy

By Paula ShabloPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
18
Dad 1935-2020

You didn’t know this

But I had other things to do today

Things that hadn’t included

Holding your hand as you drew your last breath

I was going to feed you chicken soup

And sing “Your Cheatin’ Heart”

While you ate your lunch

Turned out the cheat of the heart

Would be when yours failed

To continue on to the next beat

How could you know

I had other things to do today

When your plan was breakfast

And a fishing trip with your friends?

It never mattered to me

That your plans were all in your head

We carried on with them anyway

Day after day, living your life

From the pictures in your head

And my own imagination

We went everywhere you wanted to go

Together

But not today

I didn’t know this

But you had things to do today

Things that didn’t include me

Except for having a hand to hold

Until you took the first step

Into your new journey

heartbreak
18

About the Creator

Paula Shablo

Daughter. Sister. Mother. Grandma. Author. Artist. Caregiver. Musician. Geek.

(Order fluctuates.)

Follow my blog at http://paulashablo.com

Follow my Author page at https://www.amazon.com/Paula-Shablo/e/B01H2HJBHQ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.