Poets logo

Other Half

March 17, 2020

By Grace GuzmanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

In a hurry, on my way, nearly there, can you hear me;

Will you wait throughout the struggle, will you be able to bear my burden;

Are you getting tired yet, have you reached your limit;

At any moment now, I’ll catch you leaving, any day now, you’ll vanish from my life;

How will I make it through this, try to understand my fear;

I’m not ready, I’ll never be able to take this pain;

Breaking away now, I’m able to see the other side;

The unfairness of it all, the tears I never saw coming from your eyes;

So blinded by my own, never noticing your aching heart;

How could I have been so thoughtless, when did I become this selfish;

Busy balancing my weight on your shoulders instead of helping you cast it off;

So focused on the smudge on the glass, while avoiding the broken mirror at my feet;

A ticking clock, small whispers growing into louder warnings;

Go left, go back, turn around, back up, try taking it slow, you’re heading the wrong way;

A billion pointing fingers, but no helping hand in sight;

Wrong advice, backwards thinking, immature impulses,

Two minutes of unimaginable joy, long nights of worried overthinking;

Taking it a day at a time; unsure if we’ll even see tomorrow anymore;

Emotions running high, patience running thin;

Treading lightly to avoid commotion, trouble waiting at every corner turned;

A question of worth, a moment of anger, a wave of doubt;

Butterflies in my stomach, bad attempt at a hidden smile, sweaty hands held at the side;

Don’t make it obvious, it’s all good, no need to act strange;

Should there be any worry, it’s not what it looks like, has it gone too far;

Was it the fear of failure, or the commitment, could it be the murmurs, why did I allow myself to acknowledge the fear;

Not a doubt of purpose, so why the struggle, certain of the connection, so why the wait;

A clear definition of love, a demonstration of validation given;

There’s only room for two, should’ve put up a sign, a border, who let the jury in;

Going 25 at a 40, whole world coming to a halt, could the storm have come at a better time;

Being heard but not listened to, being told to speak in a moment of silence;

Good intentions, unseen prayers, wise counsel sought out, a muffled cry heard through the night;

Humanity shares pain, though it hardly serves justice, yet a loss is guaranteed;

It’s a world of give and take, learning to compromise, knowing your wish won’t be granted;

Realizing what growing up means, figuring out happily ever after’s aren’t picture perfect;

Too soon to speak, too far deep in, too blinded by the problem present;

Try to believe in the impossible, be hopeful for the dawn that comes after the dusk;

Silence when the adults speak, speak up though cause you're an adult;

Being tossed between opinions, falling in between people’s speculations, finding ourselves on the tip of everyone’s tongue;

Not a doubt in my mind, hoping the feeling is mutual, making sure I’m enough for another day;

More than a sentiment, far from a fleeting feeling, not your typical onscreen pair;

Let me into your heart, not just your home, tell me your thoughts, not just your dreams;

Count on me in your darkest moments, call me during greatest victories;

We’ve endured the unfairness, we’re working through the current mess, we can reach our own beginning;

Mistakes are made known, lessons have been learnt, ignorance being left for good;

The bond can no longer be broken, hold onto my hand when you feel shaken;

I won’t give in and I won’t give us up;

Our promises are just up ahead, take a closer look;

Cause the best is yet to come.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Grace Guzman

I write about what I like, poetry and my Top Tens.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.