Poets logo

OTHELLO

The Moore

By Kevin B. PlothPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Envy

This began as a exercise with actors back in 1993 when I directed and played Othello. My third production, where I found the talent struggling with the issues of Shakespeares master piece of common people. So I asked them to write a poem of what this play me t to them. I then had them read each other’s work, and placed their poems in the playbill when the production went up. I use this exercise to this day. After seventeen total productions I have been involved with as a director and a performer. Othello holds it sway over me still. I find new depths, more incites and how far human nature has not changed. Hence this work is both Timor’s and timely. I wrote this one recently. Well as they say the rest is history.

Othello:

Vast sack cloth

Darkest eyes

Embracing ivory thighs

Teeth Nash to daggers edge

Green eyes seethe with fright

The puppet master plays tonight

Honest he is and not what he is

Pushes and prods to what gains

To all that ends

Youths flame spent

Time is bent

To his will and greenest eye be met

Dearest eyes

Strangled ivory

Mournful cry’s

A true lady dies

Loves lies and evil spy’s

Plan is undone

All in one

The Moor is done

KBP

March 2020

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Kevin B. Ploth

Doing VO’s for 35 years, I bring life to any copy or text. NABISCO National Campaign,Carl Wheat Thins, 2009, TOYOTA National Radio Spots, 1996, VO

TOYS 'R' US National Radio Spots, 1999,Fluent in Spanish, dialects, impersonations,characters

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.