Poets logo

Original Songs About Love

Lyrics by Jim Gaven

By Jim GavenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 16 min read
13

To date, I've written well over a thousand songs. Several hundred of them happen to have actual lyrics and are not just instrumental tunes. From this large list of material, a select few have been strictly about love in a positive, heartwarming way. With Valentine's Day soon upon us, I felt it would be nice to organize the lyrics to many of the love songs in one area online. Vocal.Media is the place I've chosen as I enjoy the community quite a bit. Here they are for your reading pleasure:

All song lyrics written by Jim Gaven (100%) and published by Key of Awesome Music (100%) can be streamed/downloaded at www.jimgaven.bandcamp.com.

The Girl Next Door (Music and Lyrics by Jim Gaven)

1st Verse: I fell in love with the girl next door, we started talking on her friend's front porch, one summer night back in '93

But then again I was 9 years old, and love was something that i didn't know too well, but what I felt shot right through my soul, yea it was silver and gold

Chorus: I know what I want, you know what you need, anyway we can find a place to meet somewhere in between?

I know what I want, you know what you need everyday seems better when you're the only one who's next to me

2nd Verse: Then one day, yea, we just grew up, said our goodbyes and we said good luck, I'll see you sometime, will you keep in touch?

We'll reminisce about the days of old, remember everything you told me so, I won't forget you when you just go

Chorus: I know what I want, you know what you need, anyway we can find a place to meet somewhere in between?

I know what I want, you know what you need everyday seems better when you're the only one who's next to me

Bridge: I fell in love with the girl next door, I'm the king and you're the queen in our little town of make believe, I'll wear the crown, and you'll wear your, your tight blue jeans, yea your tight blue jeans, baby girl, yea you're oh so pretty, and I'm on my knees

Chorus: I know what I want, you know what you need, anyway we can find a place to meet somewhere in between?

I know what I want, you know what you need everyday seems better when you're the only one who's next to me

Make This Moment Last (Music and Lyrics by Jim Gaven)

1st Verse: I wanna be the kind of guy, that keeps you warm at night, when you are cold, I'll grab a blanket from my bed, wrap it around your chest, and pull you close, flip some channels to find out there's nothing on right now, to ease your mind, sit back, relax, there is no rush, no need to speed things up, all we have is

Chorus: Time to think about the future, forget about the past, time, to figure out a way to make this moment last (to make this moment last)

2nd Verse: so let's make this the kind of love, that we've been dreaming of when we sleep at night, we'll get a little house to live in, and have a couple kids, and we'll sleep tight, cuz baby all we really need is just a couple things to stay alive, and everything else in between, just trust my heart you'll see, will slowly come in

Chorus: Time to think about the future, forget about the past, time, to figure out a way to make this moment last (to make this moment last)

Ending: The sunrise, the sunsets, I won't let you forget that I, I need you Spring comes, and spring goes, forever you will know, that I, I love you

The sunrise, the sunsets, I won't let you forget that I, I need you Spring comes, and spring goes, forever you will know, that I, I love you

Love of My Life ( Music and Lyrics by Jim Gaven)

1st Verse: It’s hard to believe how far we’ve come , yeah, I still remember the night, we fell in love , The world would never be the same , From that moment on, our hearts, were forever changed

Chorus: I have this, feeling deep inside the one where, words can not describe, I’ll love you, ‘til the end of time, the love of my life

2nd Verse: A portrait of perfection in a dream with your beautiful white dress on, staring right at me I have to pinch myself, when you walk down the aisle , To make sure this is really happening, an eternity of smiles

Chorus: I have this, feeling deep inside the one where, words can not describe, I’ll love you, ‘til the end of time, the love of my life

Bridge: Love is patient, love is kind, love celebrates, that love is blind (love, love, love, love) / Love’s amazing, love is true, it’s the foundation of life, for me and you (love, love, love, love)

Chorus: I have this, feeling deep inside the one where, words can not describe I’ll love you, ‘til the end of time, the love of my life

Ending: The love of my life, you’re the love of my life

Marry Me (Music and Lyrics by Jim Gaven)

1st Verse:    I met a woman, who makes me as happy as can be, Here in this moment, I feel like I'm living in a dream  She gives me reasons, many reasons, for me to believe that every season, is the best one that we'll see 

Pre-Chorus: And if any doubt ever creeps in your mind, There is no mountain impossible for us to climb 

Chorus:  Marry Me, Let our story begin , Marry Me, I'll be with you thick and thin, I won't make empty promises, that would be dishonest, you know I love you more,  more than anything , That's why...you should marry me

2nd Verse: I met a girl, who I always want to have around , She changed my world, for the better, yeah, she turned it upside down , She gives me reasons, many reasons, for me to believe , that every season, is the best one that we'll see 

Pre-Chorus:  And if any doubt ever creeps in your mind , There is no mountain impossible for us to climb 

Chorus:  Marry Me, Let our story begin , Marry Me, I'll be with you thick and thin , I won't make empty promises, that would be dishonest, you know I love you more,  more than anything , That's why...you should marry me

Marry Me, Let our story begin , Marry Me, I'll be with you thick and thin , I won't make empty promises, that would be dishonest, you know I love you more,  more than anything , That's why...you should marry me

Directions to My Heart (Music and Lyrics by Jim Gaven)

1st Verse: Stay straight on Sentimental Street, make a left on Lover's Lane, turn right on Romantic Road, then park it on Passionate Place, Walk with me on Wonderful Way, to Amazing Avenue, Cut through Caring Court, and I’ll be waiting there for you

Chorus: If you follow these directions from the start, then you’ll find the way to my heart , And when you’re here, just come inside, I left the door cracked open wide, you are always welcome for the rest of both our lives

2nd verse: The sun rises in the east, and sets in the west, with north above, and south below, you know I won’t forget, Through the traffic lights and detour signs, all roads will lead you home, use the map provided in the compass of your soul

Chorus: If you follow these directions from the start, then you’ll find the way to my heart , And when you’re here, just come inside, I left the door cracked open wide, you are always welcome for the rest of both our lives

A Life in Love (Music and Lyrics by Jim Gaven)

1st Verse: Life, is a precious gift, first you make a wish for a dream come true, and then you see it through, it lifts the ones you're with

Chorus: A life in love is a life that we all want, A life in love is a life well-lived

2nd Verse: No one is perfect at all, it's OK to have imperfections, yeah, it's a lesson in embracing your faults and flaws , Family and Friends, they'll stand by your side, they're with you again and again til' the bitter end, and their love will never run dry

Chorus: A life in love is a life that we all want , A life in love is a life well-lived

3rd Verse: Time, is the one thing we have, if nothing else we know, it flies by, so we have to find, a way to make it last Love, is the essence of life, the more we give it up, the more it comes back around to us, in time

Chorus: A life in love is a life that we all want , A life in love is a life well-lived

My Heart Sings for You (Music and Lyrics by Jim Gaven)         

1st Verse: I keep these feelings deep inside, It’s a good place for them to hide , Tucked away but close enough to reach in (the nick of) time , They’re under close lock, watch and key, But you seem to open me, Faster than anyone I’ve ever seen , we shared a summer in the sun, that’s when I knew you were the one, to take me away to a place that I’ve only ever dreamed of now I’ll never be the same, cuz we’re walking every day, with a skip in our step, and I’m waking up next to a picture perfect face

Chorus: My Heart Beats a Tune, it goes a little something like ‘Do Do Do, Do-Do-Do’, oh yea My Heart Sings For You, it goes a little something like ‘I Love You’

2nd verse: Now I’m not sure where I end, And where you begin, It feels like I’m floating on air without the help of the wind , So let’s get lost in love, and hope that no one finds us  it's just you and me, tonight, it's right, our souls will dance above  and when we’re flying on a star, take a look at where we are, to see how far we’ve come since our life’s begun and we stole each other’s hearts, I wouldn’t trade it for the world, to be a second away from you, girl, this is living the life, with my best friend, my wife, forever and ever more

Chorus: My Heart Beats a Tune, it goes a little something like ‘Do Do Do, Do-Do-Do’, oh yea, My Heart Sings For You, it goes a little something like ‘I Love You’

Bridge: I love you, I love you, I love you, and only you, As long as the grass is green, as long as those three words mean, I love you and only you

Love is in the Air (Music and Lyrics by Jim Gaven)

1st Verse: One look, is all it took, to keep me coming back for more, one bite off your hook, and i’m fishing for the line to make sure, I give you my heart, you caught me fair and square, yeah, right here in your arms, love is in the air, the smell of your hair, is enough to drive a good man crazy the smile that you wear, is the only thing I believe in lately yea, I still remember, the night that we first met your argyle sweater, a chance to dance with Juliet

Pre-Chorus: and I don’t wanna be the one to tell you how to feel , but tell me I’m the only one, and this is real

Chorus: Love is in the air, I feel light on my feet, floating with the wind, beneath me, though love is everywhere, you are all I see, taking separate hearts to make one complete

2nd Verse: I’m in this real dream, where I’ve met my cinderella two hearts with one beat, this fairytale will last forever, It wasn’t my plan, to fall in love with you , but, my hand and your hand, fit perfectly just like they’re meant to

Chorus: Love is in the air, I feel light on my feet, floating with the wind, beneath me, though love is everywhere, you are all I see, taking separate hearts to make one complete

Bridge: Whatever it takes, I’ll do it just for you, now don’t be afraid, I know that you’re not used to , sharing deeper thoughts, or opening your heart, to anyone, but I’m not just anyone

Long Live Love (Music and Lyrics by Jim Gaven)

1st Verse: I could be your prince charming, and wear my heart right on my sleeve, your knight in shining armor, I’ll sweep you off your feet, I’d open up the door for you, be a gentleman and say, ‘I love you’, I’d give you roses for the hell of it, and not ‘cuz I messed up and there’s something I need to fix

Pre-Chorus: And when the world doesn’t seem like it’s on your side, don’t, give up, don’t give up, don’t, alright, ‘cuz I need you so much to survive

Chorus: I said, long live love, long live the day and night we fell, long live, you and me, And you said, long live love, long live the fairytale we’re in, the moment, the second, we believed, it wasn't a dream

2nd Verse: I could be your Romeo, and take you down romantic roads, I’d fight for all your honor, and do things you’ll never know, I’ve heard that once upon a time, on a magic carpet ride, when you wish upon a star, that dreams come true, no matter who you are, near or far and wide

Chorus: I said, long live love, long live the day and night we fell, long live, you and me, And you said, long live love, long live the fairytale we’re in, the moment, the second, we believed, it wasn't a dream

Bridge: It’s more than I’d ever want, it’s more than you’d ever need, it’s more than we ever thought could really be, it’s more than I’d ever have, it’s more than you’d prayed at night, it’s more than we ever thought could feel just right

Chorus: I said, long live love, long live the day and night we fell, long live, you and me, And you said, long live love, long live the fairytale we’re in, the moment, the second, we believed, it wasn't a dream

Falling In (Music and Lyrics by Jim Gaven)

1st Verse: Wake up, baby, the morning has come, it's time to have some fun, we need to make a day out of it while we're young, I know we don't have any plans, but that doesn't mean we can't, just make them up right on the spot while we're laying here in bed

PreChorus: We'll cuddle up real close, moments like these always seem to come and go

Chorus: So hold me long enough to love, I feel it in your touch, you're telling me we'll run away and no one will catch us, Hold me through the thick and thin, I feel it in your skin, it's showing me what it would be like if I was falling in love

2nd verse: Outside the birds are chasing the bees, and time flies when you move on with the breeze is soft, on our little walk, and we're making memories In the park, parents play with their kids, and I stop to give you a kiss, it's the only time, the butterflies, in my stomach, made a wish

PreChorus: A wish that must come true, When I'm with you girl, yea I see the world in a different point of view 

Chorus: So hold me long enough to love, I feel it in your touch, you're telling me we'll run away and no one will catch us, Hold me through the thick and thin, I feel it in your skin, it's showing me what it would be like if I was falling in love

Bridge: It's the first day of our lives, it's that feeling deep inside, that I, can't describe, It's the rising of the tide, I'd rather sink than swim, If I'm drowning in your love

Chorus: So hold me long enough to love, I feel it in your touch, you're telling me we'll run away and no one will catch us, Hold me through the thick and thin, I feel it in your skin, it's showing me what it would be like if I was falling in love

Forever in Love (Music and Lyrics by Jim Gaven)

1st verse: All my life I've been waiting for, someone like you, I can't ignore, all the feelings I feel when I'm with you, it's like I'm living life and seeing the truth , And if we open up, we can finally touch, the moment is here and we're already in luck, cuz for the first time and for the last time, we'll be Forever in love, Forever in love

2nd verse: And when your world comes crashing down, you know I'll pick you up off of the ground, all the angels will sing, for the king and the queen, are safe and sound , And when push comes to shove, all you really need is love, and when it all comes down to that, I'll always have enough, Forever in love, Forever in love, Forever in love, Forever in love

My Life Juice (Music and Lyrics by Jim Gaven)

1st Verse:  Sometimes a friend is all you need, someone to talk to you when you're lost at sea,  I'll cast my line to bring you back to shore, and we can find what you're looking for, It's such a crazy world that we live in, so many things to do in so many directions, we need to slow it down and take deep breaths, before we miss what happens next

Pre-Chorus: I'll be there, through the thick and thin, you know that I care enough about you to let you in 

Chorus: So call me anytime you want, and we'll listen to your favorite song, forget about the world for a minute or two, I'll take all of your empty pain and flush it right down the drain, then fill your heart up with some of my life juice, cuz’ that's what friends are for, life juice  

2nd Verse: Sometimes a friend is all you need, someone to talk to keep you company, I listen well to what you have to say, you tell me things that I'll take to my grave, And when you think you're just too weak to go on, I'll be the one to help you pull through strong, I'll lift you up when you are on the ground, and we can stand up to what put you down

Chorus: So call me anytime you want, and we'll listen to your favorite song, forget about the world for a minute or two, I'll take all of your empty pain and flush it right down the drain, then fill your heart up with some of my life juice, cuz’ that's what friends are for, life juice 

love poems
13

About the Creator

Jim Gaven

My mission is to write inspirational stories that make you feel good about yourself, put a smile on your face, and think of things in a different way.

www.keyofawesomemusic.com

www.jimgaven.bandcamp.com

www.patreon.com/keyofawesomemusic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.