Poets logo

Order up!

service with a smile?

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
11
Made with NightCafeStudio

"Order up!"

Wait, how'd I get here?

When did I put an apron–

"Order up!"

Woah, that tray came out of nowhere,

And it's filled with half cold meat!

The drinks are flat,

The coffee's burnt.

"Order up!"

Faces fill up every seat.

More keep flooding in with speed.

The midnight special

Is 86'd. I'm in the weeds! I'm in the weeds!

"ORDER UP!"

"Shut up, shut up, shut uuuuuppp!"

My voice squeaks out like a high-pitched Chandler.

The room is hopping, alcohol is slopping,

The bartender can't keep up.

Is it all of a sudden hot in here?

The windows are all bolted shut.

I need to leave, a quick reprieve,

Just a breath of fresh air and roll up my sleeves–

"Order up!"

"Yes, sir."

"Yes, ma'am."

"I'll be right back with your pasta and clams!"

I'm in the weeds!

A frantic glance at the clock on the wall

Shows time is standing still,

It's not moving at all.

I burst through the doors,

Swinging furiously behind me,

"Where's the food? The soda? The bread?"

Blurred faces stare blankly,

No answers. I think the cook might be dead!

He's slumped in the corner with a bump on his head.

Back through the doors,

Swinging and slamming.

The Joes at the bar are all laughing

And yelling at money they've gained

Betting on tracks and fast horses.

They get in my way as I'm crossing the floor,

Bumping and spilling the glass with my two-finger pour.

"Order up!"

Noooo, I thought he was really quite gone,

I wanna quit, I wanna move on.

All at once, the bodies start moving and leaving

"So sorry, we've forgotten our money,"

They say, as if they're not thieving.

"We can't tip you, you ninny!

You burnt all our toast

And put salt in our coffee

And forgot the main roast."

"Order u–"

Beep,

Beep,

Beep,

Beep

Oh thank goodness, the alarm saves the day!

I no longer have the apron and tray.

What a relief that dream has finally ended–

"Hey mom, can you bring me some breakfast?"

Sigh.

It's reality too–how splendid.

___________________________________________________

Written for the Full Moon dream challenge.

Author's note: When I was much younger, I waitressed for close to a decade both part-time and full-time. I had these types of vivid serving dreams for many years after I'd left the industry.

performance poetry
11

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • JBazabout a year ago

    Anyone who has worked in the service industry can relate. LOL

  • Lea Springerabout a year ago

    Typical dream of high stress jobs! Many people will relate to this in the same way I can--not about waitressing ( is that a sexist word now?). Mine are centered on teaching--bulletin boards not done, forgetting to teach Math all year, not reading the textbook, thinking I should retire...and waking up.. grateful to have left it all behind! Great job!

  • Great poem, smiles all the way.

  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    very fun

  • Vadim Kaganabout a year ago

    Full moon indeed :)

  • Dean F. Hardyabout a year ago

    I was a Chef for 8 years Heather. I've watched that poor individual out on the floor and may or may not have convinced her to fall in love with me lol. p.s: She also loved this piece!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Lol, and Ugh!!! I remember those days and the dreams that came with them. Thanks for sharing. Definitely hearted this one.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Oof, thank goodness it was just a dream. I too still have nightmares about my previous job. I guess we all have PTSD, lol!

  • Brin J.about a year ago

    This was so fun! I can never think outside the box like this, yet it seems this is the content that draws people in. Maybe I need to be your understudy? lol

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Great performance! 🥰Heather Could I have two eggs over easy please? 😂

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Oh my. The stress. Very well done.

  • Subhi Najarabout a year ago

    What a dream !!!! I like so much the poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.