Poets logo

One Day You Changed My Life

I remember that day...

By Amanda PurcellPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
One Day You Changed My Life
Photo by Nong Vang on Unsplash

I remember one day you changed my life.

You made me feel like I belonged.

But you didn’t even know all of the ways

All the ways that you changed my life.

Your voice, oh it would soothe me with a word.

Your smile, oh how it made my heart full.

I wonder if anyone else was like me,

Soothed with just a word from you.

I remember the day I met you,

How special you made me feel

Hearing my name from you,

And how you gave that smile to me.

I remember how I loved knowing

Knowing that I’d always see you again.

Knowing that you made me feel,

You made me feel happy again.

I remember my kitchen table that night.

And the way my phone betrayed me

When I opened it up and it said,

So sorry to hear of the passing.

I couldn’t believe that I’d never see you again,

How I sat there with my heart breaking.

Remembering how you made me feel,

How you’d reminded me to be happy.

I heard your voice in my mind,

And oh how it still soothed me

I could still see you smiling,

Ah, but this time it broke me.

You changed my life again that day.

The air in my lungs, taken away.

And I wondered if you knew,

All the ways you’d saved me.

By Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Purcell

Small town girl trying to kick up a small business. I love to write, even if I'm not the greatest. I love reading. I love my kiddos even when they drive me crazy lol.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.