Poets logo

One day I just sat myself on down

For everyone that has been this tired...

By The Dani WriterPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
(Photo by Aleksandr Burzinskij)

One day

I just sat myself on down and closed my weary eyes

camouflaged in relaxation

with peace and serenity my disguise

I put on s o o t h i n g rhythms

lit some incense

then I prayed

let my body release itself

as in balasana pose I stayed

My spirit was craving something that this realm could not provide

The turmoil it created

IMMENSE

Oh

how

my

body

cried

The places I needed holding in could not be reached or found

which is why I came upon that one day

I just sat myself on down

Did not want to move

and

couldn’t stand another minute

and

if there was a record for the way I felt

I’m sure that I would win it

I inhaled deep to breathe the incense that had wafted through the air

It was then I finally realised

I really wasn’t there

This mortal temple just holds my spirit

moving it around

from place to place

That’s quite a task for any temple

in this unusual kind of race

Rest is a necessity when the journey has been long

It’s neglect and indecision that can destroy right

and make it wrong

In sheer anguish

I reached up and out searching for understanding eyes

My perspective severely hampered from a life of heartfelt sighs

So I got real,

REAL

quiet

grabbed my paper and my pen

filled each line with passion and memories to remember that time when

in the sea of life’s adventures

I felt surely I would drown

so etched in my heart is that one day

I just sat myself on down

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Lovely absolutely lovely!!!💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.