Poets logo

One Day At A Time

a story of triumph over struggle

By MissyMarie Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

One Day at A Time

By: H. M. Zike

Here I am again.

I’ve been left to stand

All on my own.

I can no longer hide.

Too many years I’ve tried;

To live inside your universe.

It’s high time I learned

To soar or to fall

I know I will survive

Either way.

It’s time I learned to stand alone.

I have to break free,

From the chains that bind me.

I have to let go

Of the pain you gave to me.

No ones ever really believed in me

I had to learn to believe in myself

I had to learn to stand tall,

To get up when I fall.

Flying starts with standing tall

Every day I get a little bit stronger.

Every day I stand a little taller

Every day I take another step.

Every day I get a little bit smarter

Every day.

One day at a time

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

MissyMarie

I'm just a young woman struggling to find her voice and place in this world. How about we explore it together.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.