Poets logo

Once Upon A Time

a thank you note

By Xavia JohnsonPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

No matter the direction that life takes us,

I’m thankful for our collision along the way.

I crashed into you, unaware that you would

Connect to me so deeply and draw out a passion

That once lied dormant for what seemed like eternities.

You set my spirit on fire without permission,

But if I could, I would feel those flames forever.

I’m awakened. I’m a phoenix, and there is nothing

Unholy about my emergence.

I use my wings of freedom to fly out into the world

So unapologetically, because you helped me see that I could.

You broke down a wall built from fear and showed me my potential

When I had already counted myself out.

You showed me reciprocity and that my compassion is not in vain.

My twin flame. Your light and my light created something so radiant

That man cannot handle the sight of it with his natural eye

It is far too pure, too transcendent for the body to manage.

The type of thing that just doesn’t happen too often.

I may never get that back. I may never know another.

And If I never set sight on you again,

If I don’t hear the melodic thunder in your voice once more,

If I never feel the peace of your presence down the line,

Know that I am honored to have known you

Once upon a time.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Xavia Johnson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.