Poets logo

On wings, I soar

far above the world below

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
Top Story - January 2023
63
Made with CanvaPro

I fly up high

above the bullies,

far beyond their reach.

Their hateful words

and fighting hands

can't touch me as

I soar along

catching winds and

breeze alike.

Swimming through

cotton clouds,

a transformation

on horizon–

mouth morphs to maw,

fingers blur to claws,

arms shimmer

with glossy pinions.

'Rockin' Robin' plays

on soundtrack as

I spy a yellow bus

below.

And there they are

staring up at me.

Their angry expressions

at my daring escape

making me falter

and droop.

Brown feathers

bleed through the sky

now fading

back to flesh as

MJ's croon turns sharp

in warning.

Too late.

They've got me in

their grasp again.

I cannot breathe.

My chest hurts with

the pain of their

barbed words,

ripping me to shreds.

Until I remember

I don't need wings to fly.

A clever tongue,

a mean right hook,

strong legs to stand

my ground.

'Rockin' Robin' plays

on soundtrack as

I spy a yellow bus.

Bodies hanging

half out windows,

cheering and calling

me by name.

I jump straight up

and take to flight,

on power all my own.

No wings in sight,

soaring home

in victory.

___________________________________________________

Written for the Full Moon dream challenge and for all those that have faced and continue to face bullying. Rise above.

Author's note: even though it's been almost forty years, I still remember dreaming this all the time as a kid. There were unfortunately bullies in the neighborhood, and I just wanted to have the ability to fly away and escape. The song 'Rockin' Robin' that Michael Jackson and the Jackson Five covered was something we used to sing at the bus stop as we stood in a circle and did a hand clapping rhythm. Crazy what the mind carries over into dreams!

If you liked this piece, here is another from me:

inspirational
63

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (39)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    I always found the best way to handle bullies is to act as if they don't bother you, cast off an occasional verbal retort (sometimes with bite, more often with appreciation), & smile. With some, it took years to gain their respect. With others it was almost immediate. Rarely has it failed. Now, as a 63 year old retiree, I find the only bully I tend to face is myself. In all honesty, when the bullies were looking up at you, I was all ready to unleash a load on them. But you brought me back to earth & the real world with much more mature & satisfying resolutions. As always, beautifully done.

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Such an amazing piece with a powerful message. Incredible, Heather! Your work always inspires me!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Wow! Such a powerful piece. I'm ashamed to say I never heard Rockin Robin but this did remind me of the song and official music video of "Free" from Rudimental (ft) Emeli Sande. Thank you for sharing this!

  • Janice Dailyabout a year ago

    The imagery and metaphors used throughout the poem are effective in conveying the contrast between the speaker's sense of vulnerability and helplessness when being bullied and their sense of empowerment and triumph when they find the strength to rise above it. Great job!

  • Zohaib Sunesaraabout a year ago

    This is a really empowering and uplifting poem. I love the idea of using our own strengths and abilities to rise above challenges and obstacles, instead of relying on external things like wings. The imagery of the yellow bus and bodies hanging out the windows is really vivid and adds to the celebratory tone of the poem. Overall, it's a great reminder to embrace our own power and never underestimate what we can accomplish on our own.

  • Edgar Grove about a year ago

    I can resonate with this entire poem! It’s what I’ve been going through at my job. Thanks for sharing! It was encouraging and empowering, and it was an excellent reminder of how to combat bullies!

  • Franklin Gacutanabout a year ago

    Nice

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Woo hoo. Great poem Heather. Congrats on Top Story 🥰

  • Dean F. Hardyabout a year ago

    I feel like you live in the Top Story category Heather. Congrats haha.

  • Loved the ending, it was so satisfying! Beautifully written as always!

  • Hey hey you did it again 😉🥰💯❗❗❗

  • Colleen Millsteed about a year ago

    Fantastic as usual Heather. Congratulations on your Top Story.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    This is an interesting and different poem. Job well done!!!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!!💕💖

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Wonderfully done!

  • Beautiful!

  • Blake Sabout a year ago

    Very good visuals!

  • A.N.Tiptonabout a year ago

    ♥️♥️

  • This comment has been deleted

  • JBazabout a year ago

    I am so glad this got a Top Pick. Very well deserved.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Love your inspiring message!! Congratulations on this great top story!

  • P. K. Ganiabout a year ago

    Great message, and I stumbled upon this just after thinking back to frenemies of the past, the synchronicity

  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    I think everyone has dealt with a bully at some point in their life. Unfortunately not all bullies grow up so they come in all shapes, sizes, and professions. This is a wonderful poem about rising above it and not letting hateful people clip your wings with their sharp words. Nice work!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Natalie Wilkinsonabout a year ago

    Congratulations on getting ‘Top Story’ for this poem. It is deserving of the honor.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.