Poets logo

On-the-Whim Poem Compilation: Zap Aura

~Zap Aura~

By ~Awakened~Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
2
(I do not own this image. Credit goes to an unknown-to-me artist)

Hero from Perspective

As I gaze into the sky,

I dream of flying way up high

Seeing the world from high above.

I would swoop down to save lives

From the criminals and their knives.

But alas, I sit and cook

Tossing wishes in the well.

Hark! What may be that potent smell?

… My turkey must be saved!

Chaos Majesty

It arcs and leaps across the sky

Seeking, searching stratus for rest

When none is found, you hear its cry

It comes and crashes from the sky

Surging, singeing soft green grass

Something has gone terribly awry

Now a flame burns into the sky

Soaring, searing severed remains

And it is growing ever high

Higher, higher goes the fire

Ode to the Hero in the Fog

I’ve wanted to be a hero all my life,

To help all those stricken by strife,

But despite my feeble efforts,

I can’t seem to find any endeavor

That will quench my heroic urges.

When within, I feel my power surges

Nothing about it seems uncertain,

But in death I draw my final curtain

For a great spectacle that no one can see

As I open my eye and this world I flee,

Never having helped a single soul

Other than my own, it feels so cold.

The Madness, How We Riot

Dying days turn to nights,

Continue on, the fights,

Not a savior in sight.

However might we plead?

One truth that lies is right:

That truth is simply greed

What we want we need,

And for it we will bleed.

Some of us follow creed,

Others refuse to heed

The madness that we breed,

But never are we freed.

We riot, rise and rage

Against the crooked cage

That we built for ourselves.

The chimes, the knell,

To hell, we fell. Look...

Where rebellion got us.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

~Awakened~

Silence. Ego can be one's downfall, as well as a wall that must be broken down to breach the fifth dimension. This, you must remember in the times to come.

(In case there is any confusion, this is Zap Aura's updated page)

Twitter: @ZapAura

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.