Poets logo

On the Roof

An introvert and the view

By Lucia LinnPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

I like to perch on the roof

Like a cherry on a Sunday,

Happy to be left alone.

I wait as a witness

To make the hills feel seen

In their last golden hurrah before a yearly death;

I sit still and attend their funeral

And bid the sandpaper landscape adieu

Before they turn to dust and then white,

Then green.

I watch like a princess in a tower,

There by choice,

Bewitched by nothing more than the view

And I don’t care to share,

A prince would be a distraction.

I kick my feet as the sun dies,

Staining the sky with its sorrow

And last jolt of joy

Til tomorrow.

I stay as a canvas,

And the world paints itself in my mind

To hang in my memories.

I sit alone

And watched time go by to the rhythm of my heartbeat,

Each moment savored separately

As the hills and I age together

As they spread to the horizon

And I perch on the roof.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Lucia Linn

”Some days I feel like playing it smooth and some days I feel like playing it like a waffle iron.” -Raymond Chandler

Bits of fantasy and poetry and whatnot here, comedic comics on Instagram @mostlymecomics

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.