Poets logo

On Feeling Like Shredded Cheese

Burnout is beating me down, a poem by EMG 1/21/23

By Emily DickersonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
On Feeling Like Shredded Cheese
Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

Oh, where do I begin?

How do I start again?

Rewrite it all in my head

Open another Tab

Back to the drawing board

Or back to Frankenstein’s lab?

Pick up a rusty pen

Or clack away on the keyboard?

Drown in emotion’s oceans’ deep

Or count the grains on the shore?

Read between the lines

Uncertainty follows loyally

Consume everything I assume

Don the blame quite royally

Nix it or fix it?

So many decisions

Budget’s too tight

To slice with imprecision

Grant me a wish

My prayers fall away

Repetition, doing dishes

Finish, and then fly away

Lumber back from the bathroom

Forty minutes later

Silence worse than insults

Wears me down like a cheese grater

Oh, where do I begin?

How do I start again?

I’m certainly about to break

If I can’t begin to bend.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.