Poets logo

On August 25, 2022

You Lost Me

By Amanda OlejniczakPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
On August 25, 2022
Photo by Dipesh Shrestha on Unsplash

I’m not going to twist your arm anymore

You’ve made it quite clear

For whatever reason you’ve come up with now, you don’t want a relationship with me

Maybe you never did

Chance after chance

Lie after lie

Shitty excuse after shitty excuse

Like a damn CD skipping in the 90’s

I thought if I kept trying that maybe something different would happen

Took out the relationship, wiped it clean over and over again

But all that did was worsen the damage- I’m done

And it’s not just a scratch

It never was

It’s more like a gaping hole

That’s way too deep to repair now

And the thing is, I know you

I know that once I say “I’ve had it”, it’s more final than maybe it should be

But there’s a lot of things that should be

But aren’t

You should be there for me

You should care enough to show it

You should buy my books I write and publish

You should put your bullshit aside long enough to give me an explanation as to why I haven’t seen you

But I guess you’re just not equipped to do those things

But see, I’m able to do things you can’t

Like put an end to relationships that take more than they give

I shouldn’t have had to send a text that said

“Goodbye”

But today that’s what it came to

Dad, this is it

Checkmate

You lost

Me

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Amanda Olejniczak

I am a writer, poet, and proud advocate for mental health. Addtional content I create can be found on Instagram: @amanda_unfiltered or @amanda_unfiltered_poetry.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.