Poets logo

Old Songs on NW 8th Street

Abstraction and poetry

By Patrick OlesonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Old yellows and new blues felt so rhythmic against the starkness of I 95

I could feel it in my spirit, I sensed old souls and new lives

The current experienced blockage like expressway traffic

The magic wasn't lost, however: it was just rush hour

These blue lamp posts pooled my attention and had me feeling wavy

New tidings; and everybody over here was paying rent

So of course they were tithing

The temple of God looked like abundance in an apartment

My attention was pooling and once the lights turned green, the current started moving

I was in a whirlpool

The blood of a savior was pooling and the bread was multiplying

The temple of God was filled with friends and we were playing video games

Nothing ever felt so heavenly

I can't remember who was wrecking who in smash bros but once I'm no longer constrained by the confines of time: I'm up for a rematch, Nik.

art
Like

About the Creator

Patrick Oleson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.