Poets logo

Old Questions; Modern Times

The Pondering Age Old Questions

By Kristen ReneePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

What’s in a family?

Love and support,

A safe place to land when you fall,

Advice and guidance when needed,

Not my family

Where for art thou friends?

Close and available,

A member of your wedding party,

That shoulder you can always cry on,

Not my friends

What’s in a name?

Belief and faith,

A sense of self-worth,

Knowing who you are on the inside,

Not my name

Who am I?

Not seen or heard,

A person easily left behind,

Just another someone that you used to know,

Mistreated and broken,

Then tossed away and forgotten about the next day

Yep, that’s me and those are the questions I ask,

But more than all else I wonder why?

Not why me…?

But why can’t I find an answer…

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Kristen Renee

Kristen Renee

Writer of poems, short stories, and soon a novel.

Six "Editor's Choice Awards" (1997-2011)

Published in the Library of Congress

Bachelor's Degree in English

Master's Degree in Business Administration

Collector of Books

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.