Poets logo

Old Job New You, No Job Yay You

When you NEED to go there...

By The Dani WriterPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
Top Story - August 2021
31
Old Job New You, No Job Yay You
Photo by Matthew Henry on Unsplash

I outgrew the place that called itself my job.

Shifts on replay and attention peaked for the smallest crumb of difference to let me know another day had passed.

The lunchroom smaller, more sterile.

Increasingly plastic conversations from revolving staff.

Doors of starting and leaving

so no plausible case for the claustrophobia

which filled nostrils giving me a resting face of

Let me out, I can’t breathe in here!

while I listened to yet another department update.

It was all beehive without the buzz.

Scores of people running around to demonstrate that they had

something important to do until there was nothing left to be done

and they exuded despair.

Three more agonizing hours left on shift

All hunger.

All reaching.

Then nothing.

Then everything.

Patterns repetitive but progress be damned.

Logic and reason thrown out the window but management’s happy.

SHHH!

Everything’s fine as long as there are no complaints.

Facades are multistorey ultramodern complexes

across sprawling manicured grounds that placate the eye of the beholder.

Wherever I cast my gaze I saw understandable fear

transition people into comprehensive cowards

and realization dawned that I was surrounded.

That is until the beauty and power of all that is life lifted me skyward

to air clean and fresh.

So now I resolve never again lose freedom’s scent

as I burst into the office

still high off solar systems, asteroids, and planetary orbits

explaining all exponential options available of where the sun doesn’t shine

so that my job can be shoved there.

Savoring the sweetness of limitless expansion.

Enjoying the feeling of living

without ever having to clock in.

Photo by Hassan Nizam on Unsplash

A heartfelt thank you for taking the time to read my poem. It is so very appreciated! You are more than welcome to read more of my work here.

If you would like to demonstrate support of me or any of the Vocal Creators, please like and share our work. It encourages us to keep doing what we love doing.

And just in case you were wondering, tips from all written pieces are direct deposited into my bank account and are valued highly, irrespective of the amount, but only if you can manage them. The joy a writer receives from being tipped is from having feelings of acknowledgment and validation. "My written voice resonated with someone!" That is what it means for me and many others. I am just as joyous when you share my work!

I welcome your questions, comments, and feedback @thedaniwriter

social commentary
31

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lena Folkert2 years ago

    This is SO beautifully relatable. 😩🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.