Poets logo

Old and New

For my newest love

By Shaun WaltersPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
<a href="https://www.freepik.com/free-photo/baby-s-feet-hands_7398234.htm#query=Baby%20hand%20father&position=13&from_view=search&track=sph">Image by Racool_studio</a> on Freepik

I press lightly, encroach on your space

You push back, saying “I am here.”

I rarely talk to you, but then I rarely talk

I don’t want to give any false impressions

I press lightly to let you know I am here

And I always will be

Sometimes I’m scared I won’t be enough

My age is catching up to how old I feel

Energy ebbing, a tide running out

Maybe it’s time, maybe it’s you’re siblings

I want to be here for you like I was for them

Because you are my last.

But then, I’ve said that before.

All my worries are old worries

Recycled, reused, sometimes reduced

Because I know what’s coming -

The crying, the sleepless nights

Because I know what’s coming -

The smiles, the laughter

Because I know what’s coming -

The growing, the leaving behind

Because I know what’s already here-

The love

love poemsinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Shaun Walters

A happy guy that tends to write a little cynically. Just my way of dealing with the world outside my joyous little bubble.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.