Poets logo

Old Age

A time for release?

By Harmony KentPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
16
Old Age
Photo by Rod Long on Unsplash

Old age can bring wisdom and peace

But also pain and aching joints that crease

Life's journey carries on

Though for some it's long gone

And for others, a time for release

[Author’s Note: I’m brand new to limericks and wanted to have a try. So here’s my first effort. In this one I wanted to show the irony of the dichotomy of reaching old age. 🙂]

To read my second limerick about Potions and Notions, click HERE. One of my readers suggested it would be nice to read them side-by-side, so I’ve added links to both 🙂

social commentarysad poetry
16

About the Creator

Harmony Kent

The multi-genre author who gets write into your head

I began writing at 40 after a life-changing injury. An avid reader & writer, I love to review & support my fellow authors.

Find Me:

Blog

Story Empire

Amazon Author Page

Twitter

Goodreads

Bookbub

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Michele Jonesabout a year ago

    You nailed old age. Good one.

  • Robbie Cheadleabout a year ago

    Very poignant, Harmony.

  • Jan Sikesabout a year ago

    A poignant look at the inevitable. Great job, Harmony!

  • John W. Howellabout a year ago

    Aging is a phase we all go through and each individual has a different journey. Terrific, Harmony.

  • D.L. Finnabout a year ago

    It sure is a journey!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Yeah, this is deep!

  • Gwen Planoabout a year ago

    Time is elusive, isn't it? I relate to this one. Well done, Harmony. ❤️

  • Joan Hallabout a year ago

    Food for thought here. Although I'm considered a senior citizen now, I don't feel old (except for my aches and pains). My retirement has brought an entirely new world that I want to embrace and live life to the fullest!

  • Staci Troiloabout a year ago

    I can sadly relate to this. Nicely done.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Beautifully written, your words always conjure intention. If this is your first limerick, I can’t wait to read others! ❤️ Great work!

  • ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.