Poets logo

Often

Thoughts While Reading "Kafka on the Shore", by Haruki Murakami

By Juan Lli PedrazaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Streets of Madrid

I often die, in pain, in agony.

I often die, quietly,

remembering pieces of me that have been lost for far too long.

I often die alone, in the middle of nowhere.

I often die in company, loudly, gasping for air.

I rarely live.

I rarely breathe in peace.

I rarely feel like the echoes inside are my own voice telling me to hold on.

I rarely live in movement.

I rarely move on my own,

and when I do, it is with remorse.

Soaked in melancholy, I lay myself to dry.

I barely dry before it is time and so I leave home damp, fusty.

I rarely breathe in peace,

because I often smell of regret

and oh so many things that sit still within me.

I rarely let myself live because I often die inside;

literally and figuratively.

I have seen myself die so many deaths, it is hard to see the life staring at me from the mirror.

I hyperventilate when I choke,

I flinch when I burn,

I hold my hand when I feel it grab a knife

and flail my arms when I feel my body fall.

I often see me die a gruesome death.

But rarely does my body stay still in response.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Juan Lli Pedraza

Hi!

I'm a Venezuelan poet living in Florida. I am a poet for hire on the weekends which means I type poems for strangers on my typewriter about whatever topic they want. Hope you enjoy.

Check my work on IG: @juanspeaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.