Poets logo

Of the Rivers to the Sea

A look at both sides

By Syed Arabi KhaliquePublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Taken from an illustration of Kenneth Graham's "Wind in the Willows"

I live by the river and you live by the ocean or the sea,

While the dangers of the sea are dire, the river's are mine to see.

You face storms that reveals nature's true terror,

While I only may face a fraction, munching down on my carrot.

You still have my sympathies, as I am not foreign to pain and suffering,

And understand the difficulties that plague you and your kin.

But understand this too, that I live by the river and you live by the oceans or the sea,

And while the perils of the sea are grim, the river's are the ones I deal with, no matter how small they maybe.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Syed Arabi Khalique

I am a guy from Jersey who is trying to put down in words what nightmares afflict him, hoping that will somewhat sweeten the deadly ordeal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.