Poets logo

Of Parts Wrested and Wrestled

an homage to Dorothea McKellar and where I'm standing

By Brenton FPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
11
Out my window yesterday.

i live in the city but my heart is in the bush

this wide vast and brown land is so me

the story may be mild, and not exactly wild

but i love where i am and what i see

i get out there as often as is possible

bare minimum i try for every fourteen days

quick rat run out of this rat race city

in one of so many different ways

the things i have witnessed

the many places that i’ve been

the majesty the beauty

the things i’ve done, the sights i’ve seen

i’ve had the sun in my eyes and ice in my beard

i’ve had blisters from the walking i’ve done

i had a vision in my heart and steel in my step

as i followed this vagabond sun

i have at times woken, out there in the open

as another majestic dawn races an ever early sky

from lofty ledges and many mountains

close your eyes, open your arms and fly

i have seen the sun rise over a winter desert

so cold, so sharp harsh and still

i have seen the fog roll into vine laden valleys

both from within it and up on the hill

from far horizons i have tried to touch the stars

i’ve chased nights until they became the day

i have seen soft waves lap a mile long beach

i couldn’t possibly want it any other way

nearly every single day something new is presented

i feel organically and naturally blessed

i truly do love my sunburnt country

but i reckon you’d already guessed

nature poetry
11

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    Related to this in every way (minus the "ice in my beard" bit). Beautifully done, Brenton! (also, LOVE "followed this vagabond sun" Way too good!)

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    “I live in the city but my heart is in a bush.” Wow. Never related so much before 💕👏🏼👏🏼

  • Phil Flannery11 months ago

    Bloody oath.

  • Brilliant use of imageries. Very beautifully written. I loved it!

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    I love "vagabond sun" 😁

  • Andrei Z.11 months ago

    This was beautifully conveyed!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.