Poets logo

Ode To West Bridgewater

Merry Christmas All 12.23.21

By David X. SheehanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Town River

Higher and higher you can do it my friend

Let’s go down to the school and play football

Maybe baseball at Grant and North Elm Street

In the sun and rain and Westies wind we went …

*******

Frogs and turtles headlined the Canoe Club

River walks and slippery rocks if you dared

Our Town River low in summer, rushing in spring

Never thought one day I would miss you so …

*******

The days to play were long enough in summer

Golden leaves white snow or hard cold ice

For the short days of winter, we all played

Even then to the beat of our own drummer …

********

Pacts of friendship were silently made for life

As life rolled, moving us from teens to teams

Ballroom dance to summer parties and prom

Diplomas, schools, service or children and wife …

*******

In my heart I have returned to her many times

Memories of our river as she flows from the sun

To the joy of a peaceful youth and all our dreams

Filled or unfilled, they come here to rest a while …

********

Here, in our small town I have lived and loved

The meaning of life revealed by family and dear friends

And God who freed me to love all things and all people

I ask Your Blessing for my town and those who live there …

********

I pray too, that her inhabitants be imbued with the love

That inspired my friends and myself, from a different time

To raise each other up in spirit, let everyone be a friend

To share kindness and caring to each other Amen …

love poems
1

About the Creator

David X. Sheehan

I write my memories, family, school, jobs, fatherhood, friendship, serious and silly. I read Vocal authors and am humbled by most. I'm 76, in Thomaston, Maine. I seek to spread my brand of sincere love for all who will receive.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Lovely!!! Love this!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.