Poets logo

Ode to Solitude

A bath in self appreciation

By DaisythePoetess .Published 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

The sun licked the sleep from my eyes today/ and peeled back my blankets. I stretched back into my body/ rattled all my bones/ wiggled my fingers and toes/ then started my day-

grits on the way/

he came last night/

so he’s on his way-

maybe I’ll think up some pieces/ sit down/ break up some pieces/ dig inside of me for a tragedy turned masterpiece/ maybe I should use leeches/ or bleed out over the page.

isn’t it all the same?

Perhaps I’ll pluck a thought from my day dream/ go on a tangent bout how I’m scared of aging/ like all the elasticity in my face will grow feet one day/ and get away from me.

All the the things I’m starting to love I think will do a magic trick/ now you see me/ now you don’t- or can you spot the difference but I try not to dwell on these things.

Not on I my sunny Sunday mornings/ not when my grits are hot and cheesy and my heart and soul are soaring.

Spirit up and roaring/ how could I be anything but this/ nothing short of bliss/ I think...I’ve been good to myself lately.

-DtP

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

DaisythePoetess .

Writing is my passion...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.