Poets logo

Ode to My Hair

Afro

By Makeba K DatéPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Ode to My Hair
Photo by JEFERSON GOMES on Unsplash

Tough, hard, coarse and nappy with a mind of its own,

The description of my hair,

How many troops have tried taming it?

All those so call Afro hair products that promised results,

My grandmother, my mother, my aunties, my sisters

They all failed.

My Afro Comb,

Big, Large teeth, wide spaces. Strong,

It has to be to try and conquer my hair,

To try and make roads in a jungle,

The hands have to be strong and so to the instruments,

My pure virgin Afro hair,

The bane of my childhood,

Everyone else hair was relaxed,

But not mine, it was still tense, strict, fizzy

My 'gagu grap' and 'coconut fibre',

How I hated it!

I can still remember dreading to get my hair done,

From plaiting to washing I hated it,

It did not conform to normal time,

You needed to put time aside to get it done,

My hair, it even wrestle with time; it did not give in,

As time changed I grew and understood,

This was not a curse, this was a gift,

A present from my ancestors, a daily reminder of them,

A daily reminder to be like my hair;

Deep rooted, strong, wild and free,

Do not ever 'relax' and give in to atrocities,

A daily reminder of who I am and who they were,

My hair, full body, thick, luxurious,

My luxuriant coiffed hair

The natural crown on my head,

How I love it!

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Makeba K Daté

I like to contemplate people, things and situation. I contemplate that I must be a writer so I wrote down my contemplation and share them with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.