Poets logo

Ode to Coffee

You've always 'bean' there for me

By Jacobie JonesPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Ode to Coffee
Photo by Ante Samarzija on Unsplash

Coffee.

With aromas of toffee.

Berry notes which boast

About the darkness of their roast

Before sliding over my tongue

Like a buttery slice of toast

It's Deliciously rich

And scratches an itch

Bitter and sweet

It puts rhythm in my feet

Yet Indulging its aroma

Almost puts me in a coma

Inhaling the rising steam

I slip back into a dream

Closing my eyes I'm transported to a scene

Exotic and wild

Where the trees are so tall

I feel like a child

In this misty and mysterious place

Grows the magical fruit

With a deep alluring taste

Prized for centuries and beloved by Kings

Quickly becoming one of their favourite

things

A history you can sense before it ever passes your lips

Traveling through time with every indulgent sip

I'm connected to ancestral sippers

As I sit here in my slippers

No longer reserved for the likes of the elite

Millions now enjoy it to begin their week

The Morning's snoring

Boring and yawning

Is vanquished at last

And all it took was a cup, a mug or a flask

Of our liquid friend

Who's always there to lend

Energy and focus

Like some delicious hocus pocus

Clarity comes out of the darkness in my mug

Warm and comforting it gives me a hug

With every sip I am reborn again

Feeling alive from my toes to my brain

Like a cup of carpe diem

I'm ready to seize the day

Fortune favours the bold of flavour

And Like Jesus resurrected

Coffee is my saviour

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jacobie Jones

An up and coming writer hailing from the U.K.

Jacobie loves letting his imagination run wild, especially if it ventures into darkly comic places.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ava Saint2 years ago

    All hail our saviour Coffee

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.