Poets logo

Ocean

A sea of life

By Brittany CarrollPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ocean
Photo by Samara Doole on Unsplash

Constantly feeling like I’m in open water

Always like I’m drowning.

Trying to get to the surface but keep getting pulled down.

No one knows the pressure I’m under even those around.

Nothing seems to fill up this hole and no one even see the toll.On my heart,on my soul.

They swim right pass without even looking.

I try and catch up but feel myself to start to give up. Everyone is ahead and leave me,I’m left here alone.

With the enemy.

It tries to drag me under once more.

Until I’m barely touching the ocean floor.

Now I know most wont understand this metaphor. But I’m trying to be heard just once more.

Trying to get the water out my lungs to speak out but I let my pride start to doubt.

Keeping things inside and closed

Hoping someone will just reach out who knows

Just how hard it is to live in this ocean we call life.

With all the currents,the tides, the danger

Just trying to get by.

Just when I’m under I see a light, a hand reaches down while everyone goes by, grabs me and tells me I’m doing right.

I forget about what bad would’ve happened and start to rise up and when I reach the surface I see the sun and how bright life is.

Staying on top of the surface is life. It’s hard but it’s what’s right. To not give up just because a wave comes, but to fight it for a quick second and see what you truly overcome.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Carroll

Hello! My name is Brittany. I am a 25 year old poet. I have been writing just about all my life. I’m excited for you to join this journey with me!! Feel free to ask me any questions or if you just want to give feedback you can email me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.