Poets logo

Obsessively Imperfect

When One's Mind Tells Them Everything Is Wrong Even When It's Not

By Stacie FosterPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Wake up, right on time

Alarm is blaring the dog is whining.

Get up

Get dressed

Do hair

Every day the same routine.

But wait!

That hair is in the wrong place

There is a wrinkle in that shirt

Those pants just don’t fit right

Never mind it’s time to go

Can’t waste another minute.

Wait!

There is that voice again.

It tells me every day just what is wrong with me

It points out the wrinkle in that shirt

And turns it into the tidal wave of self-hate and deprecation

Some days that voice is small

Like a fly buzzing in my ear

Other days I am the prisoner in a coliseum

And it is the lion ready to prey on my flesh.

Wait!

Others have it worse than you.

Chaos, messy, disorganized.

The way I may describe a room

Everything out of place, nothing seems to fit

Much the like the caverns of my mind

Wait!

Everything has its place.

“You are so obsessed”

“Does this mess drive you crazy?”

The words of jovial joking

But to me they are the sword that stabs me

Each jab and joke pushes it one inch deeper.

I am the stone and they are the sword

But unlike in King Arthur,

I am the stone that holds no great weapon of prophecy

Only the weapon of my own self destruction

Counting down the days until the hilt of hate

Finally cracks and breaks me.

Wait!

Get yourself together!

You are pretty in your own way,

You have your qualities that are special.

His words trying to lighten the blow

Only make the bullet hole into a gaping wound

The bleeding and heart ache

Once recurring visitors, have finally bought a home.

Wait!

Things will get better!

I am the suburbs of suffering,

The five star hotel of self-hate,

The condo of cover ups

The mansion of masks

The trailer park of tear stained cheeks.

Wait!

Stop being so dramatic!

Wake up, right on time

Alarm is blaring, dog is whining.

Get up

Get dressed

Do hair

Wait!

What mask of “perfection” do I wear today?

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.