Poets logo

Numbness of the Darkness

Depression is a dark subject but sadly suffering from depression and knowing the feeling it can inflict as well as how suddenly it can return its a daily struggle to not let it win

By Alixzandra WisemanPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Numbness of the Darkness
Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

Let me lay on the ground while my tears pour down my face

my chest pained so badly , so deeply

by my heart that's unable to shield me and protect me any longer

as the shattering shards of my heart slip apart

floating freely within my chest

my throat tightening from my shattered heart

as air barely makes it to my lungs , tight whimpers of breath

filled with hurt and disappointment .

No one will truly understand the effects of this depression

its shadowy claw-like hand, a shattering reminder

that I'm alone and quickly undone by its grip.

One last deep breath as I close my eyes once again

hoping the pain will fade , that it will just disappear like it once did before

or that floor will be my grave so I can fade fully into the darkness of this ever numb emotionless pit

but sadly I do not, I remain on the edge, between living and death

emotionless and numb, living each day in a shadow form of myself

a robotic death trying to get through each day

but crumbling within

watching dreams and hopes ripped apart.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.