Poets logo

numb

the feeling of nothing

By Cameron KurtzPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
numb
Photo by Michael Mouritz on Unsplash

i spend the day out, enjoying my time,

and when i come home, i slowly find,

that all of my soul comes not from the heart,

but in the place where it wakes and starts.

i go spend time with one of my friends,

and when she leaves, i feel numb again.

i go back home, and feel the despair,

i’m not alone, but nobody’s there.

i shake and i cry in my little room,

the one where i grew up, made many tunes.

the songs that once felt oh so joyous,

now turn into a melancholy chorus.

i sit on my bed, needle in hand,

ready to finally take a stand,

against the life that has made me struggle,

my emotions fall into a lonely puddle.

a flick of the wrist,

i tear at my skin,

i lose all my wits,

my feelings run thin.

the blood starts to trickle,

pool up and run,

i feel oh so fickle,

as i think of the fun.

the things that used to make me laugh,

now are gone, have sadly passed.

i think of my best friends,

they’re all that i have,

as i wait for the end,

i start to feel glad.

but what is such feeling?

i started so numb?

it’s called living, dear,

and you’ve only begun.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cameron Kurtz

Crap, I’ve never been good with bios 😳

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.