Poets logo

November 15th

still the worst day

By HufflecupPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

My heart knows that I miss you

My brain knows you aren't coming back

Sometimes I catch myself forgetting

Then the guilt is in competition with the sorrow

Is it so bad to want my big sister back

We didn't have a lot in common

Our conversations consisted of me bugging you

And you calling me a brat

I had a role to fill as the little sibling

I think I did it pretty well

I thought we'd have more time to know one another

We'd grow up and escape the chaos together

Now I'm working through the trauma

You were better with their drama

It occurs to me you were a victim too

I can see your face

I recall a few good moments

But I'm ashamed to say I can't hear your voice anymore

What if I lose it all

And the person I remember isn't you

My 20th was bad

Knowing from here on out I will be older than you ever got to be

You'll always be sister bear to me

I'll just live my life for two

Embrace my wild child to be a bit more like you

I know you aren't coming back

every reminder is like a heart attack

I don't think anyone who loved you is ever really moving on

I mean Jesus I did just right another song

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Hufflecup

I want nothing more than to dedicate my life to writing, so I figured I would start here to test the waters. I will be submitting stories to as many communities as possible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.