Poets logo

Nothing Much

June 2020

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Nothing Much
Photo by M. on Unsplash

No keepsakes from adventures

No pictures to take down off the walls

No boxes to move in or out

No need to make any calls

Nothing much has changed here

except the echoes down the empty halls

Wondering if my heart can get back up

and beat again after it falls

No long, drawn-out process

No need for lawyers or a trial

No negotiations needed

No motions or forms to file

Nothing to change on my status

I never even made it on your profile

Wondering who I will turn to now

You've always been the first number I dial

No pets to argue over

No shared mortgage or escrow

No one for me to tell about my heartbreak

since we kept it on the down low

Nothing much will change as far as the world's concerned

because no one even knows

Wondering if it was apathy or embarrassment

that kept me in the shadows

No empty time to fill

I have more than enough to keep me occupied

No belongings to give up

No shared assets to divide

Nothing much lost in the situation

except maybe some of my pride

Wondering why it was so easy

for you to cast me aside

No lovey-dovey posts to hide

No heartfelt letters to be burned

No turning back the clock

Only a hard lesson to be learned

Nothing more than goodbyes to exchange

and a few small items to be returned

Wondering what I did to cause

my love and affection to be spurned

No date nights to cancel

No trips to postpone

No time to sit around and sulk

I need to handle it like I'm grown

Nothing much to complain about

because I know I'm still not alone

Wondering if I dodged a bullet

or lost the closest thing to love I've known

No accounts to split

No bills to be transferred

No relationship to work on

No even allowed to use the r--- word

Nothing much left to rebuild

Just another dream deferred

Wondering how much the line

between heartbreak and a blessing can be blurred

No suits to be brought

No need for counterclaims

No custody agreements

No tattoos to remove of your name

Nothing much more than fingers to point

looking to place the blame

Wondering if this flicker

will ever stop turning to a flame

No boxes to pack up

No debating what's your or mine

No life-altering consequences

I was ok before you, and after this I'll be fine

Nothing more than a pitstop

Just a blip in your timeline

Wondering when I'll stop feeling this sense of loyalty

with every offer I still decline

No gown or veil to sell online

No wedding rings to pawn

No more pressing repeat on your playlist

Can't stay in bed being withdrawn

Nothing to do but get back out there

Brush the dirt off and move on

Wondering when I will be able to accept

the fact that you're really gone

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.