Poets logo

Nothing Else

A Self-Reflection

By JordynPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Nothing Else
Photo by Lukas Meier on Unsplash

I saw myself in the mirror tonight.

I gazed deeply into the reflection and truly analyzed ever crevasse,

Every tear,

Every line,

Every Strain,

Every picture of raw emotion painted upon my canvas.

I analyzed it all.

By the time I had backed up from the reflection, I no longer understood

What was she doing here?

Who was she?

Most importantly,

What had she taken away from me?

There was a spirit she left behind.

She was beautiful, a miracle, maybe even an angel.

I guess I didn't know her as well as I thought I did.

But I took too long, didn't I?

Her wings are being torn out...

Ripped to shreds and discarded into oblivion.

I miss her, although I have no idea who she is

Or who I am,

Or where she came from,

Or where I came from.

Just shreds,

And tears,

And nothing else.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Jordyn

Ellos! My name is Jordyn. I'm currently 23-years-old and I love to write and read! My stories can be dark sometimes, so please read the trigger warnings before reading them! (If there are any.)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.